The Microphones Announce New Album of Background Noise

Phil Elverum has announced a new release under the Microphones moniker that contains no music. Foghorn Tape is “literally just the noisy fuzzed out tape loop of a ‘fog horn,’” as Elverum writes on his P. W. Elverum & Sun web store. He adds that the recording is “actually a distant pitch-bent bass that plays through-out the background of ‘the Glow pt. 2’ and other Microphones musics. Ambient noise. Blank ocean.”

Foghorn Tape is out March 5, and will be available on clear vinyl, limited to 999 copies. No digital option will be released. You can order a copy here.

Last winter, Elverum published a book of 761 photos titled Microphones in 2020 Silent Version. The accompanying album arrived in August, along with a 44-minute short film. Elverum’s previous album under the Microphones moniker was 2003’s Mount Eerie.

Read “Phil Elverum (Mount Eerie, the Microphones) on the Song He Wishes He Wrote.”

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

‘The Big Screen Is Back’: Studios, Theatre Owners & MPA Launch Showcase Celebrating Moviegoing As Pandemic Eases
Spiral: From The Book Of Saw Reviews Are Here, Here’s What Critics Are Saying About The Horror Movie
Covid Concerts: Live Music Returns – Carolina Impact: May 11, 2021
Knicks, Julius Randle celebrate franchise’s first postseason trip since 2013
Chrissy Teigen Apologizes for Courtney Stodden Attacks, Courtney Responds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *